John Moores Painting Prize 2012

The John Moores Painting Prize is back. Artists can register now for the chance to win the competition’s £25,000 first prize. The prize is an open submission competition available to all UK based artists working with paint. Previous winners have included David Hockney, Peter Doig and Lisa Milroy, with Keith Coventry joining the illustrious list and scooping the first prize in 2010.

The distinguished panel of judges for this year’s competition is ‘Young British Artist’ Fiona Banner, who was born on Merseyside; director of the Whitechapel Art Gallery, Iwona Blazwick; Spanish-born Angela de la Cruz, a former Turner Prize 2010 nominee; Turner Prize 2011 nominee ,George Shaw, and creative director of the BBC, Alan Yentob.  The final deadline for artists to enter is 20 January 2012 with the winners announced on 13 September 2012. The competition will culminate in an exhibition at the Walker Art Gallery as part of the Liverpool Biennial.

For further information visit the Walker Art Gallery website

%d bloggers like this: